SAFA Gauteng

Home  /  Web Development  /  SAFA Gauteng


Introduction to the South African Football Association

The South African Football Association was incorporated on 23 March 1991 following a long unity process that was to rid the sport in South Africa of all its past racial division.


Four disparate units came together to form the organisation in Johannesburg to set South African football on the road to a return to international competition after a lifetime of apartheid in soccer.

These four entities were the Football Association of South Africa (FASA), the South African Soccer Association (SASA), the South African Soccer Federation (SASF) and the South African National Football Association (SANFA), who later withdrew from the process only to return again two years later.

SAFA’s inaugural conference in Johannesburg was chaired by Interim Chairman, Mr Mluleki George of the National Sports Congress (NSC). The proposal for SAFA to apply for CAF membership was taken at this congress. However, SANFA did not agree with this initiative. A Draft Constitution was accepted and referred to all Regions and provinces for further consideration and any proposed amendments were to be thrashed out on 5 May 1991. A 15-member committee was elected to office until February 1992, when elections for a permanent National Executive Committee would be held.

The process culminated in a holistic consensus of all negotiati




Previous post

Next post